DBS (PG) College Dehradun, Uttarakhand

Department of Geography

Page Visit :15503

Dr. Mata Baksh Srivastava, the founder principal of DBS College, laid the foundation stone of DBS College in the year 1961. It was then in the year 1961 the Dept. of Geography came into existence. The fundamental aim to open the department was to develop a curriculum based on the earth Sciences in order to cater to the requirements of premier organizations in the Himalayan regions like ONGC, GSI and department. of Survey of India. The second factor was to create avenues of livelihood to the people in and around Garhwal region.

In the curriculum of Earth Sciences along with Geography, Geology was the other stream of Earth Science. Simultaneously English and Hindi with Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Economics came into existence. Later on Botany and Zoology were also added to the list of the subjects introduced.

In July 1965, Department of Geography was upgraded to the level of Past graduate and Research Studies.

Dr. S. C. Verma was the first Person to join the Department. A new dimension was adopted when Dr. Nitya Nand, joined the Department in July 1965 by raising the pinnacle of success to the both academic as well as in research fields in Geography. He is known to have travelled the Himalayas and penning a book “The Holy Himalaya.”

In the beginning there were five faculty members namely Dr. S. C. Verma, Dr. Nitya Nand, Dr. P.B. Saxena, Dr. S. K. Mishra, Dr. Har Prasad. Later on Dr. H.P. Yadav and prof. C. S. Joshi joined the Department. Now all these senior faculty members have retired and the present faculty consists of Dr. V.C. Pandey, Dr. J.P.Gupta, Dr. Anil Pal, Dr. K.S. Bisht and Dr. Vijay Bahuguna.

The Post Graduate Department of Geography boasts of a huge list of eminent alumni members who are placed in prestigious services in India and abroad ranging from Corporate Houses, Government Depts., Semi-Government Houses, Public Sectors, Politics and the Indian Army. The faculty of the department has published over hundred research papers in various journals of repute and conferences and produced large number of Ph.D. The department has also come out with four books:

  • Holy Himalayas by Dr Nitya Nand
  • Holy Himalayas by Dr Nitya Nand
  • The Modern Approach in Geography by Dr P B Saxena
  • Research Methodology by Dr Har Prasad
  • Environmental Study by Dr V C Pandey.
  • A Number of students have won laurels for the Department by securing gold medals

Staff Detail

6 Record(s)

Dr. V. C. Pandey

Designation Principal
Qualification M.A., Ph.D
Read More

Dr. J. P. Gupta

Designation HOD and Professor
Qualification M.A., Ph.D
Read More

Dr. Anil Kumar Pal

Designation Professor
Qualification M.A., Ph.D, NET
Read More

Dr. Kamal Singh Bisht

Designation Assistant Professor
Qualification M.A., D.Phill
Read More

Dr. Vijay Bahuguna

Designation Assistant Professor
Qualification M.Sc., D.Phill
Read More

Dr. Rakesh Prasad

Designation Assistant Professor
Qualification MA, MPhil, PhD
Read More
D.B.S. (P.G.) College Dehra Dun - 248001 (Uttarakhand) India TelFax: +91.135.2654757
Email : dayabrij@gmail.com
Online Admission Software Developed By Softmaart